Journal for March 30th: Head practice, Skull practice, research

For drawing pictures of people this week I decided to try drawing my friend John. In the span of two hours after drawing and help from some of my other Digital media arts peers, I was able improve my drawing skill incredibly. It just goes to show, some times.

Here is the first picture which I tried drawing while John was focusing on something in front of him, giving me a good view of his face from the side

ScanStation-2015-03-30-06-37-10-PM0000

I didn’t use much line weight or shading to really make the image pop. I was trying to do a rough sketch but decided to move on to a new picture after spending too much time trying to capture the image of his glasses and not enough time on his facial features.

This is the next picture

ScanStation-2015-03-30-06-37-10-PM0001

For this picture I tried using more line weight and a bit more shading in order to try getting the hair right. I tried to make it aparent that the nose had a nostril but used too much shading and made it too visible instead of making it subtle. I didn’t use enough force when crafting the face and had few if any amount of leading lines.

For the third drawing I tried to do something a little different. I tried to stylize a bit and was trying to draw an old man who resembles a druid.

ScanStation-2015-03-30-06-37-10-PM0002

I used better shading on the eyebrow making it truly pop but at the expense of neglecting the rest of the face. I put too little pressure on when I was drawing the face before moving onto the next drawing. I drew the lips too round. I added accessories to add to the look of a druid.

And now a practice picture.

ScanStation-2015-03-30-06-37-10-PM0003

For this picture I was trying to do a quarter turn view while also practicing drawing glasses frame. I tried also practicing lips especially the indent above the lips. Even though it is just a practice sketch I do note that the indent should have been shaded in slightly and the lips should be a little smaller in my honest opinion.

And lastly the last picture of a person for the week.

ScanStation-2015-03-30-06-37-10-PM0005

The main point of this picture was to make sure I got the frame of the head, getting the jawline just right, the lips, and the nose. I finally figured out with this drawing how eyes from a side ways view. Note the light shading on the nostril and the very light line weight on the jaw, even though it is a bit stiff I believe this is an ideal base for all future head shots, especially side views like this.

Tutorial: Drawing a Skull

And here is my drawing after watching the tutorial.

ScanStation-2015-03-30-07-25-26-PM

While watching the tutorial the thought of the old spooky scary skeletons cartoon popped into my brain and I started to channel that as I was drawing, resulting my skull into being even more over the top cartoon looking then the original cartoon. However I believe it came out rather well, honest I believe it would be seen in a classic cartoon from the old times of steam boat Mickey.

Research: Creation story.

I have been having a tough time trying to truly understand this project. I have heard a few creation stories in my time, the christian story of how god created the earth in 7 days, I’ve heard of, and this is more than likely a stretch, Pinocchio. However I have never truly examined said stories as a whole, simply taking them at face value and nothing more. Now that I am older and wiser I understand that these stories are important to people of various cultures and that said cultures each have their own unique cultures. I do not have any drawings for this part of the journal but I have narrowed my search to either Japanese, Greek, or Persian culture. My apologies for not being so specific right now but I have never encountered a project like this that forces me to stop and look back on my life as such.

About Alex Mandzi

I'm a new artist and wish to become a game designer. I like cartoons and draw them as well.
This entry was posted in Non-Time-Based and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

