Introduction to Visual Communications Project #1 : Maniac Man the Magic player

“Life is a game, it drives people mad.”

Metaphor Name:

Use this one

Cards, Mattress, Dice, 2560 x 1950 pixels, Sept 9th, 2015

I love “Magic the Gathering” and frankly feel that the game is truly enthralling. It has claimed my wallet, my time, and my heart. Using dice as life counters counting down till you, or more importantly your opponent(s), lose the game makes me feel truly amazing. Imagine the spirit of triumph and chaos one feels as they play the game, destroying enemy creatures, and their valuable land.

Magic has a huge meaning in my life which is why I decided to use it for my work. I am very much a red player in magic, red being one of passion, vigor, explosive, creativity, raw emotion. It helps spur my creativity and inspired this project like a crazy thought bubbling in my head forming the inner maniac inside me. And like my mother says “What’s life without a little magic?”

Visual Interpretation:

Maniac manEmpty Magic card template, photoshop, images from google images,

Rows of magic cards were melded together to form lines that were then connected via the selectively placed dice which formed the points thus creating the work you see here. Using the mattress’s abyssal blackness as a defining contrast space around the colorful cards reveals the truth about the piece. Balancing the dice on each of the lines thus creating points for each line. The way I laid out the cards like dominoes moving down the lines convey a sense of movement. The manipulations of rectangular shaped cards helped create a form of motion in the picture.

About Alex Mandzi

I'm a new artist and wish to become a game designer. I like cartoons and draw them as well.
This entry was posted in Visual Communication, Writting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

