Visual Communications Project 2: Spatial Translation

Free but Imprisoned 

imprisonment

Poster board, Printer and construction paper 24 x 36 inches, 9/20/15

Have you ever felt so free that you have no limits whatsoever? That you can do whatever, see whatever, be whoever you want? However have you in turn ever felt a sense of fear towards said feeling? I have. Over the course of these last few weeks I have been secretly feeling lonely, like a tiny minnow in a giant swarm of aquatic fish. Sure I can socialize and be with people but yet when all is said and done and I go back to my empty dorm. I feel hollow.

I hang out with friends, talk to people, truly socialize. I would even say I’m a socialite. I have all this freedom now that I am at college, I feel like I could explode with how much I can express myself here. But yet…when I walk down these halls, stare at the architecture around me, I feel like everything is distorted, cold, and unwelcome. Much like how a prison would feel like.

That is what inspired this piece.

“Freedom is not truly limitless; eventually you’ll start seeing the bars”

The Science and Engineering Technology building really helped drive this project what with it’s sharp rectangular walls, almost maze like design, and ominous feeling. Many a night I’ve crept through this building in the dead of night with nothing around and the sheer architecture chills me to my spine. The noise of my tapping feet seemingly distort as I walk through these halls.

In this piece I surrounded the digitally made images with actual taken photographs of the various corridors inside the S.E.T building to convey a surrounded, contained, even confined feel. Real life often confines freedom, no matter how much we wish it weren’t so. The blur of the image is meant to distort the view as time and space can often feel distorted.

The principals of design that pertain to this piece are that of Space, I tightened the space around the digital images to convey a sense of confinement but giving just enough space between the photographs and the digital images to show some slight freedom, just like a prison sentence.  The squareness of the images covey the sense of stability as if the digital images are stuck in this space with no escape. The way the photographs are lined up and arranged a kin to lined bars on a cage, most are straight and tight but some are curved to give a sense of some what chaos. Like you could break free but choose to remain confined. Almost as if the sight of freedom forces the imprisoned to stay confined rather than escape. The low amount of color in the images is to back up the feeling of imposition and dreariness.

About Alex Mandzi

I'm a new artist and wish to become a game designer. I like cartoons and draw them as well.
This entry was posted in Non-Time-Based, Visual Communication, Writting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

