Foundations: Book Project

Here is my book:

WIN_20150930_11_36_32_Pro

 WIN_20150930_11_36_50_Pro

When I draw I do not think of what I am going to draw. I put pen to paper and let my inner chaos out. This inner chaos is what scares me and helps me forge my art work. In this book it is not about a past day or even a day in the future. It is about a day I hope that never comes.

This book is not meant to make any sense of true logical sense. This book is a day in the life of me on one of my darkest day. I am together only when I wake up but as the day goes on I start to lose myself in the lines and chaos of the day. I lose my grip on my emotions, then my grip on my mind, followed closely by my sanity. By the end of the day I am left with nothing if nothing is done. This is me on my darkest day where no fragment of myself is left, not even a husk of myself remains.

I used the clashing line weights and the lines themselves to convey the inner chaos that bogs me down. The multitude of tools I used from charcoal, to mechanical pencil led, to even some of my own tears, are used to create these lines. I manipulated the texture of the paper itself to provide a gritty, unclean, and down right messy feeling to the viewer. The tape on the front cover is used to draw the viewers eyes to the beginning, to put emphasis this is about me and not someone else. The lines in the book contrast greatly against the paper of the book, helping convey the sense that this is not going to be okay.

“When you reach the end of the book it’s the end a life”

About Alex Mandzi

I'm a new artist and wish to become a game designer. I like cartoons and draw them as well.
This entry was posted in foundations, Non-Time-Based and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

