The smoky Black Rhino

1108152307

Black Rhino Write up

 Diceros bicornis more commonly known as the Black Rhino is indigenous to eastern and central Africa. Black rhinos roam the grasslands of the African savanna eating a diet of various leafy plants, fruit, branches, shoots, etc. These large horned mammals are currently critically endangered due to its horns being very useful in indigenous tribal rituals and medicines. In addition due to local wars breaking out their habitat is also endangered thus causing black rhinos to enter local villages and increasing their risks of death.

As I was coming up with ideas for this project I wondered just what I could do to help increase a creature’s survival odds. I got to thinking about how an animal could defend itself from man’s presence. Well a best defense is a great offense as they say so I decided to give the rhino the ability to create a smoke screen via replacing it’s horns with smoke stacks. Thus increasing their odds of survival. However while I was drawing this it occurred to me that if a rhino was to produce this gas and use it as both a defensive and offensive tool to survive then it would also have a biological affect on it! I tried to captivate that in this image that I carved to the rhythm of my soul.

About Alex Mandzi

I'm a new artist and wish to become a game designer. I like cartoons and draw them as well.
This entry was posted in foundations, Non-Time-Based and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

