Journal #1

As I enter this class, a question occurs to me.

“What do I want out of this class?”

I want to improve my skill on drawing anatomy and bones, more specifically, drawing people of various heights and widths along with different bone structures. I wish to improve my ability to draw arms and leg bones more accurately via studying the multiple bones in their feet and their hands. How am I going to do this? I am going to watch people’s limbs move and how they carry their bodies, as well as how much pressure they are being put under while being used.

I also wish to improve the way I draw emotions other than relaxed and static. I wish to improve and draw more emotionally driven character designs. I will do this by studying other people’s faces. Especially the people I see during the course of my day. I want capture their age, their spirit, their very soul in my images! I will draw them multiple times per day, studying the way their face is manipulated by their skeletal structure and inner muscles. My goal for each day is to draw at least 2 faces and 3 emotions!

Blind Contour Drawing to Wire Frame

0202162125

0202162126

Notes for Understanding Comics

Q: Why am I reading this? What will I achieve by reading this textbook? How will it help me succeed and grow as an artist? What types of things will I learn? Will reading this book help me become a comic book artist or even get me to work for Marvel or DC?

As I read these two chapters I found out that I actually really enjoy this method of studying, educating via a comic book really speaks to me as a reader and as a student due to my love of graphic novels and comic books in general.

The information in these first two chapters are greatly immportant because without the fundamentals how else are we supposed to understand more abstract concepts like

Final Caricature

0202162112

Other Caricatures

About Alex Mandzi

I'm a new artist and wish to become a game designer. I like cartoons and draw them as well.
This entry was posted in Non-Time-Based and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

