Gallery Write Up: Interactive Design #1

This past week I visited Cohen Center for the Arts. I took pictures of three works of art that truly caught my eye. The Frog Prince, Pyramid Palindrome, Flame.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First I’d like to talk about The Frog Prince, a Lidded Pot created by Jim Howard in 1982. The intricate design of this work intrigued my eye. Just looking at this bronze sculpted makes me think of a frog. The color and bumpy exterior reminds me of seeing frogs as a child, a great use of texture and form.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next I’d like to talk about Pyramid Palindrome made by an unknown artist. What is a palindrome? I asked myself as I examined this work. After leaving the gallery I decided to look up just what it was and found out that a palindrome is something that can be read the same both backwards and forward. I was unable to touch the work to test if flipping the work would look the same. The way this work is shaped and molded utilized form in such a way that the shadow it creates helps give more meaning to it’s name.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lastly we have Flame, a piece from the Hanley Library. However the artist was not listed. By examining this piece and going off the name I see this work as a jet of flame sculpted in bronze as it erupts from the earth like a geyser. This by far is the greatest use of form in the gallery. Creating, in my mind, bubbling flame as it tries to move upward.

I asked myself how this work pertains to my own work. These three works care a sense of emotion to them. Similar to my own charcoal work. However these are able to captivate emotional feelings in them without need for explanation. This is something I am struggling with and will continue to work on for the future.

About Alex Mandzi

I'm a new artist and wish to become a game designer. I like cartoons and draw them as well.
This entry was posted in Interactive Design, Uncategorized, Writting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

